Learning the Elder Futhark

So I’ve finally managed to pretty much get the Elder Futhark down in terms of knowing the runes and their names along with their meanings. There is no short cut, no rhyme or specific trick to this. The only way is to study them and work with them.

All I gain from this is thw ability to use the staves in readings of the runes and use them with easy for bindrunes, galdr and helms. Spiritually, I feel that bit closer to Odin  as a result of learning the runes he gained.

3 thoughts on “Learning the Elder Futhark

  1. There is no short cut, no rhyme or specific trick to this. The only way is to study them and work with them.

    That’s very true! Learning the runes can be quite a task, but with the help of flash cards, study, and/or just working with them more often, the names and meanings become a bit more familiar until you eventually get them down completely.

  2. Learning the meanings of the runes has been an ambition of mine for the last few years, and during that time I’ve had quite a lot of false starts, due to my short attention span, life, ect. I’ve started again and this week have managed to learn the meaning of one rune (fehu). Just knowing that rune feels special so I can only imagine what it would feel like to know them all! How long did you take to learn them all?

  3. I’ve been working with the Elder Futhark for about 2 years to learn names, meanings and ways to use them for Galdr, rune-staves and bindrunes etc. At long last I’m in a comfortable position with them where I feel I have a relationship with each of them.

Leave a Reply

