A liberal, heathen, non-folkish Asatru group in England…

So, I have posted previously about my search for (as per the title of this post) a non-folkish Asatru or liberal heathen group in England. They do exist- I’ve made contact with a few and have joined a couple of groups online.

But, there is an issue…

I can find more liberal groups in Sweden than in England. I travel to Sweden frequently, but not enough to partake in a group there.

UK or England based groups that have a liberal world view are often based in or around London which makes it about as likely for me to participate face-to-face as with those groups in Sweden.

The age old issue of some members of groups not fully understanding the consequences of what they say online. I have seen some liken Odinism to Satanism- I do not accept the existence of hell and/or Satan as they are Christian constructs with hell being named as a bastardisation of Hel in order to convert Heathens by way of informing them that their afterlife holds nothing but pain and misery and driving conversion by way of the repenting Christ. After so much has been done already to alter public perceptions and educate that all Pagans are not devil worshippers as we do not believe in Satan, I find it a shame that a self-professed Heathen would publicly associate Heathenism as a form of Satanism- yes, I am aware of the reality of what Satanism actually incorporates, but the general public and media would only use this as an act against us.

Some groups are local to myself, but meetings are infrequent and/or set around the lives of the core members making attendance difficult for myself.

Local Pagan/Heathen groups are often very Wiccan derived and although open to all pagan faiths, the insistence on a triple moon symbol for a group and the group worship of a Goddess and God is something I find offensive to my Gods and Goddesses- Mani is a male deity and not the moon-goddess as Wiccans believe etc. They are entitled to their views, as I am mine, but they unwittingly steer these groups in a Wiccan (although I would wager that few, if any, are actually initiates of a British-Traditional Wiccan coven derived from Gerald Gardner) manner.

I will attempt to find a liberal heathen group once more- I will consider Urd’s Well Kindred, the UK arm of the Ring of Troth (or the Troth) amongst others- NOTE: please feel free to suggest any liberal groups!

Further more, I see a likely development that I will relocate my family within the next 9 months (no baby is on the way!) and will look to move to a larger location. I will confirm that my thoughts have turned towards forming my own group, with my own criteria for membership and accepting those who share the same beliefs as myself. I’ll post more on that as it happens, but we are likely talking about a small online group at first, followed by a formalised structure for physical meetings and a location dedicated to such. I have no idea how this will form itself, but it is the way in which I feel drawn.

4 thoughts on “A liberal, heathen, non-folkish Asatru group in England…

    1. Interesting, although my own views have evolved significantly over the years since this post. Religious lines of definition no longer exist for myself — I view Odin as an archetype that has been and is also known as Shiva, Yahweh, Lucifer, and Set amongst others. I explore this idea in a forthcoming book which will be published in around six weeks time. After a study of mythologies including Sumerian, Mesopotamian, Greek, Judaic, Christian, Islamic, Neo-Pagan. Norse and Celtic, I have formulated my Jungian approach to the archetypal forms with influence from the work of Michael Aquino and Stephen E. Flowers.

      1. “Odin = Shiva”, I somewhat expected. But “Yahweh = Lucifer”?!~
        Set seems to me somewhat between Thor(fights Apep = Jormungandr) and Loki. Horus resembles both Odin(one-eyed) and Vidar(the Avenger), while Odin correlates also with Thoth(writing, knowledge). Thoth is also known as Tahuti, or Theuthes(dixit Erasmus); “The Teutonic God”? Bragi is also a good candidate. It seems to me that Kemetic and Teutonic deities are shifted a half-step relative to each other.

        Do you think it is possible to be a serious Pagan without knowing e.g. Old Norse?

        In my experience it is impossible to have any meaningful discussion about Judaism and/or Islam without being able to read Hebrew and/or Arabic.

      2. There is a distinct shift in the actions of Yahweh within the Old Testament that aligns with the casting out of Lucifer. The Old Testament reference for the Lord also of course has possible links to the Lord of Lords, creating a possible link with Shiva. Through the gifts bestowed upon men through Odin’s gifts via Kvasir’s mead and the triple gifts of the hypostases of Odin-Hoenir-Lodur, then there is a link to the archetype of the bringer of inspiration and knowledge to man, thus Odin could equally be Lucifer/Prometheus. The Thoth-Hermes link is also widely known. Given the proto-Indo European origins, then the links between Hindu, Khemetic (Greco-Egyptian) and the Teutonic archetypal beings are natural. Not to forget, Set is a god of the outsiders, the foreigners and thus there would be a link with Yahweh. Further, Odin especially has need of benefit from the products of war — soldiers for Valhol, poetry and art are all inspired by war and Yahweh certainly has a lot of war like attributes given the historic prevalence of religious wars with the involvement of the Abrahamic faiths.

        One can always be a ‘serious’ Pagan without knowing Old Norse; not all Pagan’s have a link to the Heathen gods. I suspect you meant, ‘is it possible to be a serious Heathen…’. I would offer that it is entirely so. Given the varied interpretations of the source materials, then there are a variety of issues which are not overcome by fluency in Old Norse. Firstly, the source texts are written by Christian and thus are subjective records. Secondly, given the variety of translations of such sources, then there is no reason to suspect that one’s own translation would be any more accurate than the variety of translations by esteemed scholars. There will always be issues surrounding the validity of any source where it has subjective original materials and secondary translations. The same applies to all religious texts.

        Given the issues surrounding the reliance of such translations, especially if one aspires towards a study of comparative mythology, then there is always a preference towards the philosophical path. Through study of religion and comparative mythologies, then one can gain an understanding. Through the practice of internal alchemy, one can gain experience towards the aetheric. Such combination then allows for rational ideas towards the approach to religion. An application of the self towards the lessons taught by the Odin/Shiva/Set/Lucifer archetypes is a path of individuation. Nobody else is responsible for the mistakes made by the individual in this path.

Leave a Reply

