Deer….

Had a great photo shoot at the weekend- some pics have been added to the photo page. Walking through a forest at five am is a beautiful thing for a Sunday morning. Even more special on the day of Friggablot.

The best thing about it was meeting a group of deer which at first were on the path right in front of me and of course shot off into the woods the moment they saw me. I later encountered them once more when I went off the paths and through the thick wooded areas. There I found around six of them, but every time I raised my camera they got spooked and shot further away. I guess it’s instinct to run from a human pointing something at them.

I realised two things at that time- the beauty of these animals but also the skill which it would have taken our ancestors to hunt and kill one of these flighty and fast animals. If feeding my family that week depended on me killing one of those deer at that time then we would be starving right now.

I have nothing against hunting to feed yourself- Ullr decrees that we should eat which we hunt. Hunting for sport and wasting the kill is awful- joe many fox hunters actually eat a fox once their dogs had destroyed it? No- hunt which you will eat, kill quick and clean and thank the wights of the land for the provision of food.

Will I ever take up hunting- I don’t know is the answer. I’d love to hunt with a bow but that is not permitted in England. In the mean time I will have to accept that if I could take a good photo of a deer then chances are I could have got a good shot off. My experience with guns is limited but I have always been an ok shot.

Frigga showed me the beauty of the earth once more and Ullr hav me appreciation for the skill of hunters.

Leave a Reply

