Secrecy, runes, spell books and magic

Recently my wife has asked why I hide my beliefs? I don’t think I do.

I have a tattoo on my arm that is partially visible to all- depicting my spirit guide sitting atop Yggdrasil with the dragon Niddhog at its roots.

A glass doored cabinet holds half of my magical and altar items in plane view- as well as a vast selection of books concerning paganism, magic, spells, crystals and herbs.

My arm chair is next to a bookcase housing my crystals, my book, my incense and herbs, my runes, my chalice, my wand, my altar cloth, my candles etc as well as my most prized books on magical ritual, runes, Odin and the other Aesir and Vanir.

Clearly, nothing is hidden. Everything is in pretty much plane sight- I just don’t believe in dangling my beliefs in the face of anyone who visits my home or to whom I speak. The fact that no visitor to my home has ever questioned the books and ritual items or that nobody- be they friend, family or work colleague has ever asked about the tattoo or my jewellery tells me that they are either oblivious, not bothered and accept that I have beliefs other than theirs or that they are afraid to ask.

As a matter if fact- only my two year old daughter has ever asked about my tattoo and when explained to her she simply accepts it as she has no pre- conditioning otherwise.

The only element I have concerns over in terms of secrecy is my spellwork. Do I maintain their secrecy and keep then to myself- or should I post a section of spells and bind runes etc that I have had great success with? Your thoughts and comments on this would be appreciated. My current view is that I would assist individuals should they ask- but I’m reluctant to put my work out there for misuse by anyone who views the blog.

I guess I’m saying that like with my books, tattoo and ritual items etc the. If you ask- I will answer. Ask for a bind rune or spell though and I will have to get the process somewhat. I’m about twenty years and a lifetime of knowledge away from taking
apprentices or forming anything resembling a coven, but if I can help those in need- I will.

Quoth the raven…

One thought on “Secrecy, runes, spell books and magic

  1. Small note of interest…12 hours after I post this- 3 of my co-workers notice my tattoo! Still, nobody has the nerve to ask me what it is or symbolises.

Leave a Reply

