Recently I’ve had some success with research into my family past. My birth name hails from Lancashire, England. Now, this has always been an uncommon surname.

Until now, there has been little information on the names origins…the internet allows the sharing of information between people like never before…and the one thing all people with my name have in common is a need to understand where that name came from!

I have researched and found the followingÆ

-Old Norse in origin
-deriving from Rostherne near Knutsford, Cheshire, England.
-the name is derived from ‘Rauthr’ as a reference to red hair and thorn as is thorn bush in the local vicinity.
-name first recorded in 1246 as Richard de Routhesthorn in the ‘Assize Court rolls of Lancashire’.

-another suggestion is that it is norse ‘Ravos’ and ‘thorne’.

-another is that it was ‘cross’ ‘therne’ relating to the ‘therne’ as ‘lake’ and the holy cross. A sacred mere, the only one in the UK where salt water fish have been found thanks to an unknown link to the sea seeping into the freshwater lake…maybe it was deemed a sacred well?

I have my own take.

Rauthr for red hair
Thorn for thorn (as runic terms)

Thorn/Thurisaz is a rune for something evil/giant or Thor himself- so, could the name be Red Giant?/Ravos Giant? Now- this is only my thoughts on this. Also, add to this that if you take the birth dates of my wife, daughter and myself- each one of us is a fire sign under numerological analysis. Fire signs are coded as being Red…

Makes me wonder…

Of course, you could always read it as Rostherne=Red Thorne as in Red and Thorne being a rune associated with Thor (Thor has red hair) and suddenly you have a place that maybe named after an Aesir and a chance I could be a decendant?

