Combining beliefs…

Okay,

so there is a fundamental belief that exists out there in the Pagan world…you can’t mix beliefs. Speak to a follower of Asatru and they will mock norse-Wicca, Hoodoo practitioners will decry Wiccan’s use of their techniques etc.

This is the way I see it- nobody has any written guidelines or rules as to how Pagan beliefs were or should be practised. Christianity took hundreds of years to write it’s beliefs down and then spent hundreds more years obliterating pagan beliefs and forcing the traditions to be maintained verbally. As such, nobody has a right to claim what they do is the correct or original way. I believe in Odin, Frigga, Thor etc and worship them as I see fit. That’s the bottom line. I believe I honour them appropriately and that they appreciate my approach to magick and religion.

Bruce Lee was shunned in the martial arts world for many years. Why? He sought to take everything he could learn from Karate, Wing-Chun, Shaolin Kung-Fu, Judo, Greco-Roman Wrestling, Jiu Jitsu, Boxing etc and combine it into the core martial art.

I see my belief and practice in a similar way- I use elements of Wicca, Ceremonial, Norse and other religious beliefs and magickal systems to combine them into what I see as essential and working for me. Religion and magick are both essentially about the individual and their beliefs. Do what you feel is right and listen to any guidance from the Gods you receive. I do.

Blessings, do as you will.

Leave a Reply

