Reading the Runes

Because of my attraction to the Norse gods and goddesses, I also found myself with an interest in the Runes at an early point in my journey.

Now, there are a lot of books out there on the Runes, but the most educated will ignore the ‘blank’ or ‘Odin’ rune that you get with most ready made Runes. Historically, this stone never existed and seems to have come into existence at some point in the 1970/80’s.

A good source of information on the Runes can be found at http://sunnyway.com/runes/index.html and I would recommend this as a starting point on the net to learn the meanings and history of each rune.

An initial consecration of the runes using holy water and asking Frigga and Odin to help bestow the gift of prophecy upon them is essential. Learn the meaning, learn the feel of your stones- literally get to know them and always treat them with respect.

I’m not about to tell you how to cast them for a divination- I started with a 3 rune cast, but now use 3, 5 or 9 as required depending on the question I am asking. There is a wealth of information out there.

The one guidance I will give is that you should use the Norse/Germanic runes found throughout northern Europe and not the modern Runes or the totally unrelated Witch Runes. Odin sacrificed himself for these Runes and out of respect, you should use these as they are after all the divination tool of the great and wise Odin.

Later on I will post a dedicated page to Runes and rune magic, but for now- follow the link above.

Blessings.

Leave a Reply

